Gov. Jim Pillen signed Legislative Bill 77 into law, allowing law-abiding Nebraskans 21 and older to carry a firearm for self-defense without begging for government permission or paying a tax.
As more than a majority of states have passed some form of Constitutional Carry, Nebraska is the latest to join the fold in restoring Second Amendment rights.
The newly-signed bill eliminates the $100 fee and 8 to 16 hour required gun safety class and does not eliminate the current permitting system.
NAGR Deputy Director of Political Operations, Ryan Frasor, who was present at the signing stated:
“We are thrilled that this important bill has been signed into law. Constitutional Carry is a crucial step in protecting the Second Amendment rights of Nebraskans. With this new law, law-abiding citizens can exercise their right to self-defense without being burdened by unnecessary and costly government regulations.”
Frasor went on to note that NAGR will continue to work with lawmakers and advocates across the country to expand Constitutional Carry laws and protect the rights of gun owners.
Read more at Omaha World-Herald.